top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturezbaguilar7

Let's Smash (shot out of focus )

One of the projects I edited recently, Let's Smash, was a bit of a challenge. In the sense that the project was shot out of focus. It was a little tedious because there is only so much I can actually do. Another issue I found was that none of the shots where white balanced some of them were under or over exposed. In the first scene when the girl opens the door the large window behind her is so bright that it completely misdirects your eyes directly to background of the shot. I tried to fix, or rather attempt to fix, these two main issues. Let's begin with the out of focus. Luckly, all the shots throughout the project were shot on a tripod so it was not too much of a hassle of me going in and moving the key mask one frame at a time.


The program I use to fix this issue was Premiere Pro, I went in duplicated the shot. Laid it ontop of eachother and added Gaussian Blur to the original. On the top layer I created a key mask around the characters, I inverted it , and then began to sharpen as much as I could get away with. I feathered out the outline of the mask, where it meets the background of the shot. From there I went in and slightly blurred out the background. Something I should of done was go back in again and isolate key facial features (like eyes, lips, ears ) and sharpen those even more. Lastly, I color corrected, balanced out the whites, and graded the to blend the shot together. I tried my absolute best, learned quite a few skills, and how to quickly solve any post-production issues.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page